Android music app build

Every other bugger is building amplifiers, so rather than clutter up other threads with my random whining I figured I’d put it in its own thread. Feel free to mute.

I’m currently not working, and occasionally bored, so I figured I’d have a play with Android development. My background is all in server-side Java programming. So, Java - check, Android - not so much.

I installed the free “Android Studio”. This was the first serious hurdle. I’ve used the Eclipse development environment for the last 15 years. Android Studio is based on its mortal enemy, IntelliJ. Ho hum, there are a few conceptual differences, and a lot of basic key bindings to relearn.

Android already comes pre-loaded with a heck of a lot of support for storing and indexing media, and decoding and playing music. If I was going for the full monty reading music and playing it from scratch I’d be here forever. So this job is most likely to be concentrating on the user interface.

After poking around API documents and Stack Overflow for a couple of hours I discovered that the Android Open Source project already had a freebie music player app on GitHub. It’s a lot easier to learn by modifying someone else’s code than to start from scratch, particularly on a very unfamiliar platform, so this suits me down to the ground.

The basic idea is to mash this app around to do what I want. Eventually there will probably be nothing left of the original.

My basic requirements are:

• I want it to play FLAC files that are local to the device.
  • I want it to handle the “album artist” tag gracefully, and not just use the “artist” tag.
  • I want album art to work properly, just like it doesn’t in Google Play Music. Particularly I want to be able to display a folder.jpg that is in the same folder as the source file.
  • I want it to work with USB DACs like the Chord Mojo - most apps in the app store are very cagey about this. Except one which appears to be the default and only option.