Unity Speakers

Anyone have any experience of this design? Later known as Synergy Horns - essentially, it is a way to have multiple drivers and wavelengths function as a single ‘point’ source.
A compression driver is used at the back of a horn, and mid-bass drivers are mounted around the horn, and transfer sound through ports cut into the horn.

Additional woofers are used in a separate cabinet - the mid-bass and compression driver arrangement rarely works below 3-500Hz.

1 Like

I have no experience but have seen plenty of discussion in diyaudio.com

There is enough distance between the drivers for it not to be considered time aligned, unless DSP and active is used.

You can model them in Hornresp.

There was an Aus guy on Diyaudio who was trying them out. That was a few years ago though.

They are time aligned. Not physically but with the right crossover they are as close to linear phase as you can get with a passive design.

That’s interesting.
The alignment plot is a bit small but the scale is one ms!

There’s a whole thread about the ins and outs.

https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?t=329112

Talk of many notch filters.

Give me DSP anyday

This one was interesting too

https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?t=287990

They are typical Danley, the main issue for me is getting mid drivers worth using. Bwaslo’s efforts ended up with a system sensitivity of something like 90db, no thanks.

I’m not sure I’d want to DIY them, as I’m not Tom Danley. It looks like real voodoo, and the chances of getting anywhere close to Danley’s results if you’re not a guru are exactly zero.

There is a spreadsheet etc, it’s doable, but because the mid range is basically operating in a band pass enclosure it’s specs need to be just so. Next to nothing works well off the shelf.

Sounds like a job for - duh duh DUHHHHH…

Behringer!
a DCX 24/96 and a SuperX