Buying wine online

I’m thinking of starting to buy wine online. The Island Shop has a very limited selection and since the lockdown restrictions I’ve decided to limit my trips to Lerwick to every 10 weeks or so. So online buying makes sense, I think!

Obviously I can only buy from sources that deliver to the back end of beyond, so that limits my choice.

A few that DO deliver here are

Lathwaites
Virgin Wines
Oddbins
Majestic

Any experiences of the above outlets – good or bad?

Other recommendations welcome.

Laithwaites are very good Paul - I’ve been buying from them for about 20 years with no complaints whatsoever.

I usually steer clear of their bargain mixed cases tho - if you decide roughly what you want in a mixed case from the menu, they will always do a deal on the cost if you call them.

2 Likes

Big fan of getting wine delivered.

Laithwaites is OK, but I found they got boring quickly.

I used to enjoy visiting Majestic, but never tried their online service.

Can I put a shout in for my local wine merchant’s wine club? They deliver to ZE for a surcharge. They have started using UPS now but they used to deliver to me using their own van.

They allow me to customise my 12 bottles - I get 10 white/2 red. £125 bi-monthly. Always interesting choices and comes with a booklet with really good descriptions of the winemaker and wine.

3 Likes

I use Virgin but only buy a couple of cases a year - no issues with delivery or quality though they really bombard your email with offers which is a pain.

1 Like

That looks interesting, I would love to support an independent business rather than a chain, but £35 a pop delivery surcharge to ZE is a bit steep.

1 Like

Yeah, boo to economies of scale. :confused:

1 Like