Computing gaming? No.. Real life gauss gun

If you’ve played FPS (First Person Shooter) games, you’ve probably seen a gauss gun. Y’know - it blows enemies heads off and sets them alight.

This won’t do that, but it is a real-world, handheld gauss gun, with about the same (lack of) stopping power as a .22 short.

1 Like

Shared that link to my son, he’ll know what it is and probably put it on his Christmas list…

1 Like

Only $3500+… :slight_smile:

I’m sure they will do it on the tick, 3 easy payment option etc.

In 2018 I worked with a lad (6th former, as part of a physics/engineering project qualification) to have a go at making one of those. Despite being complete beginners and having relatively little time we did actually manage to fire a sawn-off 4" nail across a room. I think we spent around a hundred quid on parts (ours was mains powered).

Given enough resource, the sky’s the limit

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RIWJkHJCA8

Actually, it isn’t. They have been proposed as ground-based launchers for space vehicles.

But in the end, electricity struggles to pack quite the punch that chemistry does

2 Likes

Rail guns and gauss (or coil) guns are different - rail guns require significantly higher electrical current than a coil gun.

Quoting from Wikipedia: " Coilguns are distinct from railguns, as the direction of acceleration in a railgun is at right angles to the central axis of the current loop formed by the conducting rails. In addition, railguns usually require the use of sliding contacts to pass a large current through the projectile, but coilguns do not necessarily require sliding contacts."

Similar end though - no black powder of combustible accelerant.

The future will be multi-stage coil guns.