Kiseki Blue NS

Apologies for the longish post.

I’ve been thinking about a cartridge upgrade in the £1200 - £1800 range. It’s important to me to get a cartridge that is a good match to my SUT and amp and the Kiseki Blue NS has caught my eye. The problem is I’m a novice when it comes to SUTs and would be grateful for confirmation that I’m on the right track.

The internal impedance of the Kiseki is 40 ohms. Am I right in thinking this would be an optimal match for my Luxman AD8000/8020 SUT which has “Primary 40 Ohms” written on it?

The Luxman SUT is 1:10 and the Kiseki output is 0.44 mV at 5 cm/s. I presume this would present an output of 4.4mv to the MM stage of my Luxman amp. Need I be concerned that this might overload the L590ax MM stage with input sensitivity of 2.5mV / 47kΩ?

Final questions: has anyone heard this cartridge? It’s not one talked about much on the forums.

Any other suggestions in my price range that would be a good electrical match to both Luxmans and a good mechanical match to an SME 310?

Thanks in advance.

1:10 sounds ideal for a cartridge with this internal impedance & output.

The phono stage may have a quoted sensitivity of 2.5 mV (to what exactly? full output?) but I’ll bet that the 5 mV output of a typical MM cartridge would not be a problem for it & nor would the 4mV or so you’ll get from the Kiseki & your SUT.

But £1200-£1800 is a fair lump of cash & I’d be sure to check out the other alternatives at that price level from the likes of Ortofon, Transfiguration, Shelter & even Ikeda if you can find any of them. You might even want to check that you’d be getting a tangible upgrade from a Hana SL or similarly priced offerings.