PAT testing qualification / Equipment advice

As I’ve mentioned often before I’m a volunteer a a wildlife charity both driving to collect and release wildlife and sorting out donations in the back office. Recently the guy who does the PAT testing of our electrical donations has retired due to ill health and I have been asked to step in.

My background is in computer repairs but I have no formal experience in mains related work.

I would only be testing domestic equipment, nothing industrial or hard wired to an installation. Kettles, tv’s, light fittings and stereo’s etc.

Can any one advise.

1. What is the level of online training and certification required.
  2. What model of PAT tester would do the job? Is a used one worth the risk reliability wise.

I’ve spent ages looking on line and there seems to be different levels of each which I’m struggling to understand.

1 Like

@Valvebloke may have an idea or two :+1:

1 Like

Currently
No specific qualifications are required , the regulations only require the testing to be done by a competent person. The definition of a competent person in the regulations is - "A person possessing sufficient technical knowledge or experience to be capable of ensuring that injury is prevented.
Our caretaker does ours, he attended a one day city and guilds course for his own Peace of mind.

3 Likes

Yes, I’d read that and can see it’s logical for physical external damage. But if you need to check with a PAT tester and like me you have no idea how to operate it it puts me firmly in the incompetent area. I know it basically shoves lots of volts down the cable and looks for leakage but I’ve never used one and don’t know what I would be looking for.

I think the charity will also need some sort of certificate for insurance purposes.

I’ll look into C&G course locally - thanks.

Maybe @Kevin might have an idea as to how it applies to charities?