Streaming services

Will be having a go at streaming in early 2020. It’s time I tried it even if slightly reluctantly.
First thing. Which of the services is best in your opinion? Particularly based on sound quality.
We have a family subscription on Spotify that Jack and Kate use more than me. I’ve only used it on my phone on holidays.
So suggestions and advice is welcome.
:+1::+1:

I have a family subscription to TIDAL. Decent sound quality through the Hi-Fi and surprisingly good via the phone. All have free trial periods and TIDAL are offering 5 months for £5 at the moment. Fill yer boots.

1 Like

Tidal hifi is pretty decent imo.

Dammit, no special offers for Tidal available over here, otherwise I’d have been tempted to try it again.

Tidal is very good. Spotify has a larger catalogue but not as good SQ.

The best of the best is Qobuz. I had to do a test of six of the fuckers earlier in the year. Qobuz has the same USB management as Tidal, no MQA, more high res and a library that- for me anyway- doesn’t have too many serious omissions. Tidal is still good though and there are some screaming deals at the moment.

I’d also give a nod to Amazon Music HD which is brilliant value if you don’t need embedded support for Roon etc.

I’ve ended up with a single Spotify Premium account that everyone uses, including most days at work for me.
Tidal for proper listening/main system, as unfortunately once you get used to the uplift in sound quality it’s difficult to go back.
£30 a month total, reluctantly spent but considering the amount of hours it’s used, and the price of new vinyl I’m just about ok with it…

I use Qobuz, and really like it. Discovery of music is excellent, plus all the stuff Ed mentioned.

For me, the main issue with Tidal was all the Jay-Z and Beyonce promotion. It was just awful. Maybe if you use Roon for it that’s not a problem, but I used their web interface and just hated it.

1 Like