Fitting beech stave worktops

I am about to fit some new beech stave worktops in my kitchen, the job is pretty straightforward, apart from the cut out for the sink which involves curved cuts. Can I use a router for this or do I need to use a jigsaw? I fucking hate using jigsaws :rage:! s-l140|140x140

Depends on the radius of the corner, maybe use a largish hole saw/starrett cutter to drill 4 holes, then connect with the straight cuts?

Edit: l didn’t look at the link with the sink. :roll_eyes: I reckon you’ll have to make a hardboard or thin ply template and router it, if you don’t want to use a jig saw

1 Like

how thick is the beech?

40mm

The radius of the curves is 185mm.

Could you make a jig and then route around it? 40mm is quite thick and a 1/2" router would give neat results. I would just drop the bit by 5mm on each pass but I am no expert…Jim’s right on radius as that would play a part in your choice.

2 Likes

That is exactly what I did. Made a jig, slowly routed.

1 Like

How deep is the flange on the sink,? If you take it quite slowly with the jig-saw, then any variations should be covered by the flange, no?

I don’t know, I have to pick up the sink later.