Radar detectors -anyone using?

Just got my second speeding ticket in 6 months so I thought it might be an idea to get a detector. A quick read around suggests they all have pros and cons but that you largely get what you pay for and the more expensive ones are more reliable.

Just seeing if anyone uses them on here, good bad experiences and any recommendations?

Worth asking, were you caught by a fixed placement camera or a van? The former are accurately plotted in Google maps and this makes them easy to avoid.

1 Like

I’ve no experience of using them but they’re probably not infallible and worse, give you a false sense of security.

Aren’t they illegal?

I use waze - it warns of impending fixed and temp mobile cameras. (Temp mobile cameras are reported by fellow waze users and uploaded to the system very quickly)

3 Likes

I use the Radarbot app, similar to Waze.

2 Likes

Not in the UK.

2 Likes

I know it’s a crazy idea but how about sticking to the speed limit? :thinking:

18 Likes

I recently got nabbed twice in two days. Same stretch of road, at about the same time in the morning.
I was on my way to work in the early hours, I know the cameras are there, and just fucked up.
Nobody to blame but myself.

2 Likes

Ouch!

Whatevs. I really can’t sweat over it. I fucked up. Pure and simple.

1 Like

Fixed in a city I don’t visit often - had no idea there was a camera or that I got flashed, (37 in a 30) they’re not flagged on my BMW gps but I could go Waze I guess.

Radar detectors are long forbidden in NL/D, used to have one at the turn of the century.
Nerve wracking every moment I passed a petrol station as it always started beeping like crazy.
Hope for you the new gen detectors are better.

Nowadays most use apps for that, Flitsmeister being the most popular here, as it is initially a Dutch app.
It works in numerous countries, including in Germany, although that is also legally forbidden by German law. UK is listed as well, see here: